703 468-1885

Blog

703 468-1885

How much does a DUI cost in Virginia?

Driver's hands on steering wheel

How much does a DUI cost in Virginia?

If you are convicted of a DUI in Virginia, the cost will be far greater than just a fine. Keep reading to learn 5 consequences of a DUI conviction in Virginia and find out how you can protect your rights if your are charged.

DUI Consequences

What are some of the additional consequences of a drunk driving charge and their costs? Let us count them:

  1. If convicted, your insurance rates may skyrocket, possibly as much as three times as what you’re paying now. Rates will go even higher if you have a second offense on your record.
  2. Fines. Virginia has some of the toughest DUI laws in the country. You’ll pay a minimum penalty of $250 in a fine, but it could be higher (as in up to $1,000).
  3. If convicted, the Virginia DUI process requires that you attend alcohol education sessions. You’re responsible for paying for these classes and they can run from a few to several hundred dollars.
  4. A license reinstatement (when you’re allowed to get your license back), also will cost you a hundred dollars.
  5. Your license may be suspended, but if you are permitted a restricted license to commute to work, you may be required to pay for the installation and use of an ignition interlock system.

“How much does a DUI cost in Manassas, Fairfax, Arlington, Reston or Virginia Beach?” The real answer is that you can’t afford the consequences.

Contact The Irving Law Firm, P.C. Today

If arrested on suspicion of DUI, you’ll need a traffic attorney in your corner to help mitigate the consequences of your case. Contact an The Irving Law Firm, P.C. defense attorney.

Related Articles

 

Comments are closed.