703 468-1885

Blog

703 468-1885

How long does a DUI stay on my record in Virginia?

How long does a DUI stay on my record in Virginia?

Virginia has some extremely tough DUI consequences. If you’re convicted of a DUI, the answer to the question “How long does a DUI stay on my record in Virginia?” is that a DUI conviction remains on your criminal record forever.

The DUI laws in Virginia also stipulate that DUI conviction penalties include six points to your driving record, more than likely resulting in a huge increase in your auto insurance premiums.

In addition, a conviction for driving under the influence while operating a commercial vehicle will stay on your record permanently.

You may be in a world of hurt if you face charges for a second or third offense DUI within 10 years. You may have your license suspended or even fully revoked.

The penalties for a DUI conviction can potentially last a lifetime.

What You Should Do After a DUI Offense Conviction

A second offense – or even a first – could see you serving time in jail, if convicted.

In addition, the more points you accumulate, the greater the chance that you’ll see the DMV suspend your license: accumulate 18 points in 12 months, or 24 points in 24 months and your driver’s license will be suspended automatically.

If you find yourself asking the question “How long does a DUI stay on my record?” then seek the legal defense help of a skilled DUI attorney in Virginia.

Contact The Irving Law Firm, P.C. Today

To defend your record from a DUI charge, give the attorneys at the law office of The Irving Law Firm, P.C.

Related Articles

 

Comments are closed.