703 468-1885

Blog

703 468-1885

Do You Have to Register as a Sex Offender in Virginia?

Portrait of man with laptop  thinking face and hand

If you’ve been charged or convicted of indecent exposure you may be asking the question, “Do you have to register as a sex offender in Virginia?”

The answer, if you’ve been convicted, most often is “Yes.”

Keep reading to learn more about registering as a sex offender in Virginia.

The Facts About Registering as a Sex Offender

Virginia’s Megan’s Law states that:

Every person convicted on or after July 1, 1994, of an offense set forth in § 9.1-902 shall register and re-register as required by this chapter. Every person serving a sentence of confinement on or after July 1, 1994, for a conviction of an offense set forth in § 9.1-902 shall register and re-register as required by this chapter. Every person under community supervision as defined by § 53.1-1 or any similar form of supervision under the laws of the United States, any foreign country, or any political subdivision thereof, and any person convicted of any offense for which registration in a sex offender and crimes against minors registry is required under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was convicted on or after July 1, 1994, resulting from a conviction of an offense set forth in § 9.1-902 shall register and re-register as required by this chapter.

In plain English, this means:

  • If you were convicted of an applicable sex offense after July 1, 1994 you have to register.
  • If you served time on or after July 1, 1994 for an applicable sex offense you have to register.
  • If you are “under supervision” for an applicable sex offense, you have to register.

It sounds simple, doesn’t it? But did you know that the definition of a sex offender could include an 18-year-old having consensual sexual relations with his or her 17-year-old girlfriend/boyfriend? Teens sending nude photos of themselves also could see indecent exposure charges raised against them. Do they really deserve such a massive penalty?

So the question “Do you have to register as a sex offender?” can have a complicated answer.

Get the Legal Help You Need

If you’ve been charged with indecent exposure or a sexual offense in Virginia Beach, Reston, Arlington, Manassas, or Reston you truly do it owe it to yourself to contact an sex crimes attorney with knowledge and experience in these areas of law.

Give an attorney at The Irving Law Firm, P.C. a call at (703) 468-1885 or click here to contact us online.

Related Articles

 

Comments are closed.