Category: 1st DUI Offense

What is the punishment for a first-offense DUI in Virginia?

What is the punishment for a first-offense DUI in Virginia?

A conviction for a first-offense DUI in Virginia likely will affect both your bank account and your driving privileges. A DUI – for operating either a motor vehicle, boat or watercraft while under the influence of alcohol or drugs – qualifies as a class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. A first-offense […]

Read more

 

Are Breathalyzer Tests Always Accurate?

Are Breathalyzer Tests Always Accurate?

The breathalyzer test is a standard tool for police officers when they investigate a case of a motorist possibly driving under the influence of alcohol. The test often is applied after a motorist has first undergone a field sobriety test, which involves a series of basic tasks that can be […]

Read more

 

If I plan on pleading guilty to a DUI, do I still need a lawyer?

If I plan on pleading guilty to a DUI, do I still need a lawyer?

Even if you plan to plead guilty to a DUI, seeking the professional advice of a lawyer on your case often makes good sense. The ramifications of a DUI conviction are too consequential to not at least confer with an attorney experienced with DUI cases.  An attorney can review your […]

Read more

 

Driving While Intoxicated Virginia Attorneys: 4 Things To Know

Driving While Intoxicated Virginia Attorneys: 4 Things To Know

Have you been charged with drunk driving in Virginia? When you get charged with a DUI you’ll need a good driving while intoxicated Virginia lawyer.

Keep reading for 4 things you ought to know when selecting an attorney for driving while intoxicated.

Read more

 

How long does a DUI stay on my record in Virginia?

How long does a DUI stay on my record in Virginia?

Virginia has some extremely tough DUI consequences. If you’re convicted of a DUI, the answer to the question “How long does a DUI stay on my record in Virginia?” is 11 years.

Read more

 

How much does a DUI cost in Virginia?

Driver's hands on steering wheel

How much does a DUI cost in Virginia?

If you are convicted of a DUI in Virginia, the cost will be far greater than just a fine. Keep reading to learn 5 consequences of a DUI conviction in Virginia and find out how you can protect your rights if your are charged.

Read more

 

Is a DUI a misdemeanor in Virginia?

Is a DUI a misdemeanor in Virginia?

“Is a DUI a misdemeanor in Virginia?” If you’re facing charges of driving under the influence, this may be one of the questions going through your mind. The answer, simply put, is yes.

Driving while under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) are classified as Virginia Criminal Class 1 Misdemeanor Criminal charges. DUI consequences can be very serious. If convicted, even in a first offense, you may find yourself spending up to one year in jail, paying up to $2,500 in fines and possibly/probably see your driver’s license suspended.

Read more